Advantages of Panama

Homepage Forums Panama Insider Advantages of Panama

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Wayne Palmore
    Participant

My wife and I are planning to retire in two years to Central America. We initially were set on Costa Rica. However, we are also looking hard at Panama. That is why I have a subscription to Panama Insider. As we look at these two countries, which have great programs for retirees, are there definite advantages of Panama over CR. Hopefully some of your members have experienced both and have some insight to share. Thanks

Hi Wayne and thanks for your post. We often get questions from folks who are comparing Panama and Costa Rica, because they are so close in many ways.

I know a number of expats and retirees who have moved from Costa Rica to Panama over the last several years. The most common reason I hear for this is the cost of living.
    For one example, sales taxes are higher in Costa Rica: from 10% to 25% on some things in CR compared to 7 to 10% in Panama.

I have visited CR a few times and it is beautiful, no doubt.

Hopefully you will hear from others about their experiences, and ultimately you’ll have to visit both countries in person to know which feels right to you.

Keep in mind that IL has an annual conference in both Panama and Costa Rica, and there is an Insider page for CR, too.

Have fun with your research! Linda

Hi Wayne,