Giant dogs…Great Danes

Homepage Forums Belize Insider Forum Giant dogs…Great Danes

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Hi. I am new to this Belieze Insider forum. And, as much as I would like to think we could get serious about Belieze I just don’t see any way to get our big dogs (Great Danes) there. Driving through Mexico seems to be a huge risk without armed guards. Flying seems out of the question with these sized dogs. I am intetesyed in hearing if anyone has moved their giant dogs to Belieze and if so, how and how did it work out.
    Thanks for any info.
    /Terry

DAVID L.
    Participant

We just brought our dog, Dolly, into Belize. After 3 years of visiting and purchasing a home in Consejo, this trip was our permanent move (read – we bought one-way tickets!).

Our dog, a 70 lb. Yellow Lab, is not near the size of the “small horse” you are looking to bring. While you do have to make sure your paperwork is in order from the vet, shots current and recent, and an import permit has been issued by BAHA (Belize agricultural and animal control), this is relatively easy and the Belizean officials on the phone and at the airport are very accommodating. The BIG problem is the airlines. You must have crate big enough for the dog AND they must have a plane that can handle that size crate. Delta, United and American are your best bets. Their websites do contain the size restriction by airplane type. One of your many jobs will be to check the airplane model for your trip (including connecting flights) and compare those models against any size restriction for that type of plane.