No Country for Old Men (or Single People)?

Homepage Forums Belize Insider Forum No Country for Old Men (or Single People)?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Joseph Martin
    Participant

Hi Belizian expats!

I’m a freelance writer, in my late 50s, currently living in northern Colorado. I’ve been looking for a (preferably Caribbean) place to live outside the US from which to run my internet-based writing business. Problem is, I’m happily single, but also like to socialize.

Digging through online info, I’ve found that most destinations cater almost exclusively to what I’ve discovered is called “Couples Culture.” Can anybody tell me if the reality on the ground in Belize is more welcoming for singles than the advertising suggests? That is, for those of us who are not “on the prowl,” but like to be friendly with the neighbors. 🙂

Many thanks!
    Joe Martin

DAVID L.
    Participant

Joe,
    I would suggest the San Pedro area on Ambergrist Caye. Ann would have more details on the social life since we live north of Corozal in Consejo..
    David

Joe,

San Pedro is a good place for single expats. We have quite a few single friends who live here. There are more single women here than men, but you will find both here. Most singles are in their 60s, but some are in their 40s and 50s.

This is a very social island. It doesn’t really matter if you are part of a couple, or are single. We have single friends over for dinners, and they have us over. We all get together at Wine de Vine, and for potlucks at holidays. Some condo complexes have a lot of social activities. It really depends more on your personality and how social you are. As long as you are an outgoing, pleasant person, people go out of their way to help, and to include you.